Scottsboro Divorce Lawyers – Divorce Attorneys in Scottsboro
UNCONTESTED DIVORCE STARTING AT $290
Call today at (256) 945-0502
Our Scottsboro divorce lawyers are currently offering discounted flat fees to handle your uncontested divorce in Jackson County, Alabama. An uncontested divorce is the cheapest and simplest way to get divorced. If you live in Scottsboro or the surrounding areas of Section, Pikeville, Pleasant Grove, Pisgah, Bridgeport, or Stevenson, then you will likely be filing your divorce in Jackson County. Scottsboro is the county seat of Jackson County with the county courthouse located in downtown Scottsboro. Each county charges a fee to file your divorce. The filing fee in Jackson County is about $214.
Many counties have certain local requirements and Jackson County is no different. This is why it is important to retain a divorce attorney that is licensed to practice law in Alabama and regularly files divorces in your county, since they will be familiar with such local rules. Our Scottsboro divorce attorney knows the local requirements in Jackson County, and can ensure you get your divorce decree as quickly and easily as possible in an uncontested divorce.
Quick & Cheap Divorce Lawyers in Scottsboro, Alabama
If you are seeking a divorce in the Scottsboro area then it is important to retain a local divorce attorney to handle your case. There are generally two ways to file for divorce, uncontested and contested. If you and your spouse are in complete agreement on everything then you can file an uncontested divorce and get your divorce as quickly and easily as possible Even when considering a quick and cheap uncontested divorce, having a local divorce lawyer that knows the requirements of your county will ensure that everything goes smoothly.
The Jackson County courts have certain local rules in an uncontested divorce filing that other counties do not have, and our divorce attorneys in Scottsboro are familiar with these county specific requirements. Unlike most other counties, in Jackson County the Plaintiff has to physically go to the clerk’s office to give testimony at the courthouse. In most other counties you can give testimony by signing an affidavit and filing it electronically with the Court. The judge uses this as the evidence that allows them to grant your divorce without ever having to go to court.
The Jackson County Courts also have a parenting course requirement that each parent must complete and obtain a certificate of completion in order to get their divorce decree. Call our Scottsboro divorce lawyer today for more information about this Jackson County parenting course requirement. If you are interested in an uncontested divorce then you can get started by filling out a questionnaire online by going to our divorce questionnaire page.
Are you interested in filing a contested divorce in Alabama? This is where you file for divorce without an agreement being reached. A contested divorce is much more expensive and time consuming than an uncontested divorce. You will have to go to court and your attorney fees will be thousands of dollars in most cases. Simply contact our divorce lawyer to get a quote for a contested divorce in your county.
A contested divorce is begun when someone files a Complaint and has their spouse served with the documents. Upon receipt of this filing, they have thirty days to file a reply to the complaint referred to as an Answer. Once this is done, both parties will go to court with their respective attorneys. If both parties are still unable to reconcile their differences, this will be left for a judge to decide at a trial. If you are considering a contested divorce, feel free to call us for more information.
Contested Divorce in Scottsboro, Alabama
Can’t come to an agreement with your spouse to file for an uncontested divorce? Our contested divorce lawyers in Scottsboro can help resolve these complex divorce matters. A contested divorce takes place when one spouse is unwilling to sign the divorce papers, there is a dispute over child custody, or both parties can not arrive on an agreement to terminate the marriage conclusively. A complaint will usually be served to one of the spouses, and in most cases, they will obtain their own lawyer. A judge will eventually determine the outcome of the divorce.
We are here to help you file a contested divorce. Our Scottsboro divorce lawyers are here to aid you in the process from filing for a contested divorce to finally resolving your marital issues. Like all divorce lawyers in Scottsboro, we do require a retainer fee which will vary on the severity of your case and if there are children involved. If so, the price will likely increase.
An average contested divorce retainer fee in Scottsboro ranges from $1500 to $5000 and above. If our lawyers feel your case may require additional time or the issues are more complex, it’s likely the fees will increase and they may get quite expensive.
Call us for a quote today. We consider everything when quoting you an upfront fee to begin working on your case. Let us know if there are children involved or any other potentially complicated issues that will need to be resolved. While an uncontested divorce is almost always cheaper, we are here to make your contested divorce as easy as possible.